Apply online
British Education

British Educational System

British education has an excellent reputation over the globe. It is well respected by universities and employers from all over the world. Education in United Kingdom is a child-oriented, focuses on the well-being of the children and preparation for their future life and success. The newest teaching methodologies are implemented in British education such as Concept Based Learning, Teaching Thinking, Suggestopedia and more.

In British education the child is in the center and all activities and tasks are provided by differentiation method (each child receives task and challenges based on their abilities). Implementation of the newest technologies, teaching STEM (Science, Technology, Engineering and Mathematics), focusing on 21st century skills and qualities is a main part of British Educational System. The British Curriculum is one going beyond the classroom developing not only children’s academic but also social, sports, music, dancing and creative skills.

Here is the British Curriculum explained by Mr. Matthew Osborn, Headmaster of British School of Sofia.

British Educational Model

British education is known as one of the best and it is widely recognized and respected by the top universities and employers in the world. It is split into five main parts – Kindergarten (Early Years), Primary School, Secondary School, College and University.

The schooling part (2 – 18 years old) is split as follows:

Kindergarten (Early Years): 2 – 5 years old.

Key Stage 1: 6 – 7 years old (Grades 1 & 2)

Key Stage 2: 8 – 12 years old (Grades 3 – 6)

Key Stage 3: 12 – 14 years old (Grades 6 & 7)

Key Stage 4: 14 – 16 years old (Grades 9 & 10)

College (A-Levels): 16 – 18 years old (Grades 11 & 12)

British School of Sofia does not offer A-Levels to its students but International Baccalaureate (IB) Diploma Programme (DP).

More about IB DP you may find here.

Academic Stages and Exams

There are four academic stages of education in British educational system. Students finish Primary school in Grade 6, Lower Secondary in Grade 8, Secondary in Grade 10 and College in Grade 12.

At the end of each stage to receive a diploma, student should successfully pass exams in English, Mathematics and Science as follows:

Cambridge Primary Checkpoint Exams in English, Mathematics and Science at the end of Grade 6;

Cambridge Lower Secondary Checkpoint Exams in English, Mathematics and Science at the end of Grade 8;

International General Certificate of Secondary Education (IGCSE) in English, Mathematics, Science and minimum two additional selective subjects at the end of Grade 10;

International Baccalaureate Diploma Programme in English, Mathematics, Science, three selective subjects and three additional modules – Creativity Activity Service, Theory of Knowledge and Extended Essay at the end of Grade 12;

Features of British Educational System

Internationally recognized diploma;

Child driven education;

Put an emphasis on learning to think, teamwork and manage problems over learning facts;

Differentiated teaching approach (students receive varying degrees of challenge during a lesson based on their abilities and level of understanding);

Interactive and practical lessons;

Curriculum beyond the classroom – there are a lot of educational trips, events and extracurricular activities;

Education based on freedom of though and personal responsibility;

Curriculum that focuses not only over British culture but on many other cultures around the world, teaching respect and tolerance;

Innovation and new technology implementation;

Excellent preparation of students for the rigours and challenges of life;